RandSwitchHomeJobsCarsHome power

← Charging map and all routes

N2 Cape Town to Gqeberha (Garden Route): EV charging stops

Fast DC chargers within about 5 km of the N2, in driving order from Cape Town, with the gaps between them. Distances are approximate road kilometres.

Route length≈760 km
Fast DC stops13
Longest gap159 kmCaledon to Heidelberg (WC)
Gaps over 200 km0
Plan this trip for your car →Plan it Gqeberha → Cape Town
Fast DCDC under 50 kWAC

Fast DC stops in driving order

km from Cape TownNearChargerSpeedPlugsNetwork
0Cape TownGardens Centre50 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
45Somerset WestSomerset Mall150 kWCCS2Rubicon E-Mobility
111CaledonCaltex Fresh Stop Caledon60 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
270Heidelberg (WC)Engen Heidelberg (WC)120 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
299RiversdaleEngen 1-stop Riversdale50 kWCCS2, Type 2–
389Mossel BayDiaz Hotel & Resort50 kWCCS2Rubicon E-Mobility
389Mossel BayLangeberg Mall (Mossel Bay)150 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
437GeorgeGarden Route Mall (George)60 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
465SedgefieldEngen Sedgefield60 kWCCS2, CHAdeMOGridCars
492KnysnaKnysna Mall60 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
543The CragsEngen Expressmark Garden Route (The Graggs)80 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
686Jeffreys BayCaltex Mentors Plaza, Jeffreys Bay, Western Cape60 kWCCS2, Type 2GridCars
755GqeberhaMoffet Retail Park60 kWCCS2Rubicon E-Mobility

Gaps between fast chargers

Counting from Cape Town to Gqeberha. Highlighted: the longest gap and any over 200 km. Gaps under 15 km are hidden.

FromToGap
Cape Town (km 0)Somerset West (km 45)45 km
Somerset West (km 45)Caledon (km 111)66 km
Caledon (km 111)Heidelberg (WC) (km 270)159 km · longest
Heidelberg (WC) (km 270)Riversdale (km 299)29 km
Riversdale (km 299)Mossel Bay (km 389)90 km
Mossel Bay (km 389)George (km 437)48 km
George (km 437)Sedgefield (km 465)28 km
Sedgefield (km 465)Knysna (km 492)27 km
Knysna (km 492)The Crags (km 543)51 km
The Crags (km 543)Jeffreys Bay (km 686)143 km
Jeffreys Bay (km 686)Gqeberha (km 755)69 km
26 slower chargers on this route (DC under 50 kW and AC)
kmNearChargerTypeSpeedPlugs
0Cape TownCamps Bay Retreat - 1AC22 kW–
0Cape TownWembley SquareAC22 kW–
0Cape TownThe Capital 15 On Orange HotelAC22 kW–
0Cape TownEV chargerACkW not stated–
0Cape TownFNB PortsideAC22 kW–
0Cape TownThe Silo Hotel (Cape Town)AC22 kW–
0Cape TownPick 'n PayAC7 kWType 2
0Cape TownBreakwater BoulevardDC (under 50 kW)7 kWCHAdeMO, Type 2
2Cape TownRoyal Cape Yacht Club (Right)AC11 kW–
5Cape TownUniversity of Cape Town - Lung InstituteAC22 kW–
5Cape TownBlack River ParkAC22 kW–
6Cape TownWestern Province Cricket Grounds Newlands - Black TowerAC22 kW–
36Somerset WestMeerlust Wine EstateAC22 kW–
39Somerset WestCheckers SitariAC22 kW–
69GrabouwPeregrine Farm StallDC (under 50 kW)30 kWCCS2, Type 2
81GrabouwHouw Hoek HotelAC22 kW–
227SwellendamBP Buffelsjagrivier / Oude Post Bistro. off N2 east of SwellendamDC (under 50 kW)30 kWCCS2, Type 2
428GeorgeEV chargerACkW not stated–
428GeorgeFancourt George CenterAC22 kW–
444WildernessWilderness HotelAC22 kW–
491KnysnaSimola Golf & Country EstateAC22 kW–
497KnysnaPezula Nature Retreat - Basement ParkingAC22 kW–
528Plettenberg BayGoose Valley Golf ClubAC11 kW–
584Storms RiverTsitsikhaya Lodge Restaurant & SpaDC (under 50 kW)47 kWCCS2
759GqeberhaPort Elizabeth Golf ClubAC22 kW–
760Gqeberhamy locationACkW not stated–

Charger data checked 18 October 2026: © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL) and Open Charge Map contributors (CC BY 4.0, public export dated 22 April 2026). Map tiles © OpenStreetMap. Chargers at car dealerships are left out. Credits.

The route line is drawn through the main towns, so it is approximate; a charger counts as "on the route" within about 5 km of it. Other routes: N1 Johannesburg to Cape Town · N3 Johannesburg to Durban · N4 Pretoria to Mbombela.

Road-trip charging tips

CCS2 or Type 2?

CCS2 is the fast DC plug: a Type 2 shape with two big pins underneath. Almost every new EV sold in SA uses it, and DC chargers have the cable attached. Type 2 is the AC plug (usually 7–22 kW) for slower top-ups; bring your own Type 2 cable. CHAdeMO is mostly for older Nissan Leafs.

How long a stop takes

For a typical 60 kWh car charging from 10% to 80%: about 45–60 min on a 50 kW charger and 25–35 min on 100–150 kW, if your car can take that speed. Your car's own maximum DC speed is the limit. Above 80% charging slows right down, so short, frequent stops are quicker. AC at 22 kW takes 3 hours or more.

Load-shedding and outages

Many chargers have no backup power, so they can be off during load-shedding or a local outage. Some sites run on solar and batteries, but don't count on it. Check the outage schedule for the towns you'll stop in and leave yourself a bigger buffer.

Check the app before you leave

This data comes from volunteer maps and may be out of date. Chargers break, get busy or move. Check the operator's app (GridCars, Rubicon, Zero Carbon Charge and others) for live status before you leave, and know your backup stop.

Highway range is lower

At 120 km/h most EVs get 20–30% less than the claimed range, and more in the wind, rain, cold or when towing. Plan to arrive with 10–20% left, not 0%.

Plug-in hybrids

A PHEV's petrol engine covers any gap, so charging is a bonus, not a must. Most PHEVs charge on AC only; a few take DC.