N1 Johannesburg to Cape Town: EV charging stops
Fast DC chargers within about 5 km of the N1, in driving order from Johannesburg, with the gaps between them. Distances are approximate road kilometres.
Fast DC stops in driving order
| km from Johannesburg | Near | Charger | Speed | Plugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | Johannesburg | Sub Sahara Power Distributors | 90 kW | CCS2 |
| 241 | Ventersburg | Caltex Star Stop Sulla Via (Ventersburg) | 80 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 386 | Bloemfontein North | Caltex Sunny Hill | 90 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 400 | Bloemfontein (3 km off the route) | Mimosa Mall | 60 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 409 | Bloemfontein (3.3 km off the route) | Windmill Casino(Bloemfontein) | 60 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 617 | Colesberg | Caltex Colesberg | 150 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 625 | Colesberg | Engen Colesberg 1 Stop | 60 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 763 | Richmond | Caltex Star Stop Karoo (Richmond) | 80 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 938 | Beaufort West | Swartberg 1 Stop | 60 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 1139 | Laingsburg | Engen Laingsburg 1 Stop | 60 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 1293 | Worcester | Mountain Mill Mall - Worcester | 60 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 1293 | Worcester | Mountain Mill Shopping Centre (Worcester) | 60 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 1378 | Cape Town (2.3 km off the route) | Tygervalley Shopping Centre | 150 kW | CCS2 |
| 1378 | Cape Town | Willowbridge shopping centre parking - near RocoMammas | 150 kW | CCS2 |
| 1386 | Cape Town (4 km off the route) | Rubicon Richmond Park | 60 kW | CCS2, CHAdeMO |
| 1391 | Cape Town | Canal Walk Shopping Centre | 150 kW | CCS2 |
| 1400 | Cape Town | Gardens Centre | 50 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
Gaps between fast chargers
Counting from Johannesburg to Cape Town. Highlighted: the longest gap and any over 200 km. Gaps under 15 km are hidden.
| From | To | Gap |
|---|---|---|
| Johannesburg (km 3) | Ventersburg (km 241) | 238 km · longest · over 200 km |
| Ventersburg (km 241) | Bloemfontein North (km 386) | 145 km |
| Bloemfontein (km 409) | Colesberg (km 617) | 208 km · over 200 km |
| Colesberg (km 625) | Richmond (km 763) | 138 km |
| Richmond (km 763) | Beaufort West (km 938) | 175 km |
| Beaufort West (km 938) | Laingsburg (km 1139) | 201 km · over 200 km |
| Laingsburg (km 1139) | Worcester (km 1293) | 154 km |
| Worcester (km 1293) | Cape Town (km 1378) | 85 km |
24 slower chargers on this route (DC under 50 kW and AC)
| km | Near | Charger | Type | Speed | Plugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | Johannesburg | The Country Club Johannesburg - Auckland Park | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 0 | Johannesburg | The Westcliff | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 75 | Vaal River | Pont de Val Estate | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 191 | Kroonstad | Sasol Reitz - AC1 (Kroonstad) | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 388 | Bloemfontein North | Monte Bello Estate | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 624 | Colesberg | OK Foods Colesberg | DC (under 50 kW) | 30 kW | CCS2 |
| 938 | Beaufort West | Engen EV charging station | AC | kW not stated | – |
| 939 | Beaufort West | Karoo Junction Mall | DC (under 50 kW) | 30 kW | CCS2, Type 2 |
| 1293 | Worcester | Quenvest Worcester - Black Tower | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1340 | Paarl | Agrimark Paarl | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1341 | Paarl | Checkers Drakenstein | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1372 | Cape Town | Capegate Shopping Centre (Cape Town) | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1375 | Cape Town | The Village Square - Black Tower | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1396 | Cape Town | Black River Park | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1397 | Cape Town | University of Cape Town - Lung Institute | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1398 | Cape Town | Royal Cape Yacht Club (Right) | AC | 11 kW | – |
| 1399 | Cape Town | The Silo Hotel (Cape Town) | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1399 | Cape Town | Pick 'n Pay | AC | 7 kW | Type 2 |
| 1399 | Cape Town | Breakwater Boulevard | DC (under 50 kW) | 7 kW | CHAdeMO, Type 2 |
| 1400 | Cape Town | Camps Bay Retreat - 1 | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1400 | Cape Town | Wembley Square | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1400 | Cape Town | The Capital 15 On Orange Hotel | AC | 22 kW | – |
| 1400 | Cape Town | EV charger | AC | kW not stated | – |
| 1400 | Cape Town | FNB Portside | AC | 22 kW | – |
Charger data checked 18 October 2026: © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL) and Open Charge Map contributors (CC BY 4.0, public export dated 22 April 2026). Map tiles © OpenStreetMap. Chargers at car dealerships are left out. Credits.
The route line is drawn through the main towns, so it is approximate; a charger counts as "on the route" within about 5 km of it. Other routes: N3 Johannesburg to Durban · N2 Cape Town to Gqeberha (Garden Route) · N4 Pretoria to Mbombela.
Road-trip charging tips
CCS2 or Type 2?
CCS2 is the fast DC plug: a Type 2 shape with two big pins underneath. Almost every new EV sold in SA uses it, and DC chargers have the cable attached. Type 2 is the AC plug (usually 7–22 kW) for slower top-ups; bring your own Type 2 cable. CHAdeMO is mostly for older Nissan Leafs.
How long a stop takes
For a typical 60 kWh car charging from 10% to 80%: about 45–60 min on a 50 kW charger and 25–35 min on 100–150 kW, if your car can take that speed. Your car's own maximum DC speed is the limit. Above 80% charging slows right down, so short, frequent stops are quicker. AC at 22 kW takes 3 hours or more.
Load-shedding and outages
Many chargers have no backup power, so they can be off during load-shedding or a local outage. Some sites run on solar and batteries, but don't count on it. Check the outage schedule for the towns you'll stop in and leave yourself a bigger buffer.
Check the app before you leave
This data comes from volunteer maps and may be out of date. Chargers break, get busy or move. Check the operator's app (GridCars, Rubicon, Zero Carbon Charge and others) for live status before you leave, and know your backup stop.
Highway range is lower
At 120 km/h most EVs get 20–30% less than the claimed range, and more in the wind, rain, cold or when towing. Plan to arrive with 10–20% left, not 0%.
Plug-in hybrids
A PHEV's petrol engine covers any gap, so charging is a bonus, not a must. Most PHEVs charge on AC only; a few take DC.